Boks and a bombshell

They did it! They really went on to do it! Yep, England finished second best in the Rugby World Cup! Well done Eddie Jones and the boys…just one place to go…bring on 2023…

queen in SA jersey
To explain…I’m sure Liz is just jealous that Harry got to go to Japan and she had to stay at home with the corgies

I will tell you what was good to see… and I mean this. It was a very significant thing to see Siya Kolisi, the first black springbok captain, lifting the Web Ellis Cup, to the delight of millions of South Africans. I appreciate that sport can’t solve the problems of a country but boy can it provide a sense of excitement, togetherness, inspiration and even hope that not a lot else can rival. Even as a die hard England rugby supporter I’m so glad that South Africa won the World Cup. Of all nations in the tournament, they’re the country who needed it the most. So, it was a joy to witness it go their way, even if it was in a rather embarrassingly emphatic way! My renditions of ‘God save the Queen’ and ‘Jerusalem’ were soon to be quickly forgotten. My new target of learning the SA national anthem suddenly became a priority and challenge set by those around me.

SA
A well deserved victory by Siya and the boys!

So then, in other news, since returning from my visit to the UK in June/July there have been quite a lot of changes or developments. Let me spend most of this post explaining a bit more.

In short, I’m loving my new role! It’s been such a blessing and joy to lead the youth here at Hope church. I would be telling a big lie to you if I was to say that it hasn’t come without its challenges – there have been many over the past couple of months. However, I’m grateful for how God has provided me with the strength, energy, wisdom and even renewed passion to manage the situation and long to see the youth work grow. I’m enjoying the opportunities to plan for the youth set up next year and think through how we can move forward as an area, strengthen unity in the diversity we have and look to reach more teens with the Gospel.

Youth boys
Chilling with some of our youth boys!

On top of this, you may remember that I was planning on going to George Whitefield College to study theology in Cape Town.

Well….so came a further development…don’t worry…it’s good news! A few weeks ago, an idea was proposed to me by the Pastor of Hope Church. This was about whether I would be at all interested in postponing my studies at GWC and commit to going in 2021, instead, and stay on at church another year. However, it was made very clear that he was still keen for me to do what was right for me and that if I thought that this would be studying next year then he would still back me all the way but was eager to suggest staying on as a possibility, also.
After various conversations with people, I’m more confident that things will look different going into 2021, with regards to staffing and the future youth plan. Also, I’ve been really enjoying my job and with the ideas and teams I’ve been building so far, I’d actually be keen to oversee this into next year, as well. I’ve also been presented with the opportunity to undertake some biblical counselling training with the church next year, as well. Longer term, this would add a lot of value to future college experience. So, with all of this in mind – after much thought and prayer, I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I would like to pursue staying on another year in Johannesburg and pursue studies going into 2021, instead. It’s a decision I really feel I’ve owned.
So, there we have it – the bombshells have been dropped and the big news shared but do please be continuing to partner with me in your prayers as I seek the Lord’s will in all of this and seek to trust in him wholeheartedly.

To add to all of this, would you believe it, Hope Church have had their first carol service of the year already! We had it at the evening service, on Sunday just gone! I know right…there’s something profoundly disturbing about singing Christmas carols, at the beginning of November but to wave the big lump of cheese around…the message of Christmas is for all year round, right?!

We have a lot of students who attend our evening service and we couldn’t bear the thought of them missing out on belting out some Christmas anthems. So, we held a carol service before they finish their exams and run away from us, for the holidays.

Carol service 2019

Do, also, check out a song I’ve recently written and sung on Sunday, which I hope encapsulates some of the key reasons for why we celebrate what we do. (Why we celebrate what we do…later this year)!

Do stay tuned for the next post which will be coming soon! I’ll be writing about a recent fundraiser that the youth team held to raise funds to send our teens on summer camp. I’ll also share the horror of saying goodbye to my hair but I will leave you hanging for now…until next time.

Peace,

Adam

Leave a comment