Unity in diversity?

I’m back and over the coming weeks I will be turning up the notches on the controversial dial….

Unity in diveristy 1 (b)

Over the next few blog posts, I’ll be seeking to address the topic of ‘Unity in diversity’ in some of the areas which I’m engaging with. This post is an introduction to the series and I must start by pointing out that I’m in no way an expert in this field. The time I’ve had to research and experience a range of areas, which fit into this topic, will be incredibly limited. I’m not going to be able to give you masses of detail on the topic, even with what I have engaged with and experienced. Also, some of the things which I may write, in this coming post and future ones, may even upset or offend you. If that is the case, then I do apologise for any offence or upset caused. The sake of writing this series of blog posts is to not be controversial for the sake of being controversial. I strongly believe it’s a topic that needs to be written, spoken and acted on far more than it already is, particularly in the church. I also recognise how the dynamics around the discussion around this area can sometimes be polarising. What I’m seeking to do is simply provide you with some of my experiences in the area of unity in diversity and then seek to take a Biblical worldview to engage with some of the specific issues, which I’ll be addressing. I do hope I speak the truth but importantly speak it in love and do forgive me if you ever feel that I’m not abiding by this.

Unity in diveristy 1 (d)

So why? Why am I writing about unity in diversity? A proper answer to this question should take up the content of a book and in fact, as I go through the series, I’ll be recommending books which address the topic in a much better way than I ever could. But without further a do, let me synthesise in a few brief paragraphs:

Talking about unity in diversity is incredibly important. In fact, it’s a Gospel issue. I’m going to be focusing more on the diversity we see when it comes to racial and ethnic backgrounds but diversity can be seen in so many other areas too. The obvious other areas around us include gender, culture and class. It’s helpful to note that two of these areas, race and class, are in fact human constructs but for the sake of etymology I’ll still engage using these terms and recognise them for how they’re used now in society.

If you’re a Christian reading this, we need to address unity in diversity because the Bible does. When we refuse to act on the implications of unity in diversity, I would go as far to say that we’re seriously undermining the value of each human as representing God’s image.

So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them male and female he created them. Genesis Chapter 1 v 27

Furthermore, we’re not even taking the Great Commission, given by Christ, seriously when we refuse to act on the implications of unity in diversity. Please note, these implications will be explored in some more detail in following posts.

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew Chapter 28 v 18-20

I know I fail to live out to live out the Great Commission in this specific area, on a regular basis. I need to recognise my need to become more like Christ in this area but I know that as I also seek to grow in this area myself I’m also called to speak out and encourage others to live out the Great Commission – to raise disciples who will obey Jesus’ commands and seek to live out a new identity, if they have accepted Christ into their lives.

The Bible clearly demonstrates that our relationship, as humanity, with God matters. However, it also clearly demonstrates how our relationships with each other matter, as well. If you’re a Christian reading this, then how seriously do we as Christians take Jesus’ commands to love God and to love neighbour in the area of racial unity?

Even in a secular society and amongst people who aren’t Christians, I’m still called to be salt and light and reflect the light of Christ in the darkness where I do see so many wrongs and abuse, in this area.

Unity in diveristy 1

So, all of this begs the immediate question, how can I strive to make a difference in the area I have a significance influence over i.e. the youth ministry at church? That’s a question which I’ve been wrestling with for all the time I’ve been working at Hope Church for.

I’ll be posting again very soon on the topic of unity in diversity in the youth ministry of the church I work at. In the meantime, to give you a heads up, let me give you a small glimpse into what I’ll be addressing over the coming posts:

 

  • Unity in diversity? Progress must be made in the youth ministry…
  • Unity in diversity? Evangelical passivity is a problem…
  • Unity in diversity? Dear fellow white people…
  • Unity in diversity? Hope for the future…

 

I’m going to be bold and explicit and I hope that the posts prompt further discussion and engagement amongst people who read them. You may disagree with points I make and that’s ok. I would love to hear more from people that may disagree or want clarity on something I write so that we can engage further.

Unity in diveristy 1 (c)

Let me leave you with one of my favourite passages in the Bible (if I’m allowed one?). It’s from a letter written by Paul to the church in Ephesus and this place had a diverse context. I hope you can begin to see why this passage is incredibly relevant to the topic being addressed and in fact foundational to our youth ministry. More on this in my next post though:

11 Therefore, remember that formerly you who are Gentiles by birth and called “uncircumcised” by those who call themselves “the circumcision” (which is done in the body by human hands)— 12 remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world. 13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ.

14 For he himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, 15 by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace, 16 and in one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility. 17 He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near. 18 For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.

19 Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and also members of his household, 20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. 21 In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. 22 And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit.

Ephesians 2:11-22

 

Peace,

Adam

Leave a comment